Antiquarian & Secondhand Booksellers

Address: Carlton View, 17 Main Street, Normanton-on-Cliffe, Grantham, Lincs., NG32 3BH, England
Tel: +44(0)1400 251865  |  Email:

Book Details

MUSIC.. Orchestral Part Books. The bound volume of symphonies and overtures consist of sets of parts for the following instruments: Violino Primo, Violino Secondo, Violoncello, Oboe I, Oboe II. This means that the sets are not complete, missing parts for viola (Taille/Tenor) and horns 1 and 2 (where called for). The composers represented include: Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809), a rare 1764 edition of Symphony No 22; Johann Wenzel Anton Stamitz (1717 – 1757); Franz Xaver Richter (1709 – 1789); Carl Friedrich Abel (1723 – 1787); Carl Friedrich Abel (1723 – 1787); Johann Christian Bach (1735 – 1782); Johann Christian Bach (1735 – 1782); Anton Filtz (1733 – 1760); Carl Joseph Toeschi (1731 – 1788); Franz Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809); Carl Friedrich Abel (1723 – 1787) etc.1762

 4to, Each symphony/overture is carefully numbered in ink at the top of each page, giving a total of 84 altogether. There are also some brief contemporary pencilled comments in the Violino Primo part about many symphonies (such as "Good", "Fine", "Difficult") and some are placed in pencilled lists on the rear flyleaves. Engraved titles are present for each work, though for some published as parts of a series the title pages are not present in all parts. [see the full listing for details] Some engraved titles are very elaborate, especially those published by Hummel, half calf, marbled boards, crudely rebacked. It would seem that the sets of parts were initially bought individually and then bound together in part books at a later stage. They would have most probably have been used for music making by amateur musicians. Most of them appear to date from between 1762 and 1770, and the music was contemporary. The composers represented here were all well known and respected as practical musicians – holding posts within court or church musical establishments, and not infrequently virtuosi on their chosen instruments. The period during which much of this music was composed and published was one of transition from the older Baroque style of Bach and Handel to the classical era of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. Mannheim was one of the most important musical centres, with an impressive and very influential court orchestra. This collection sheds an interesting light on this fascinating period. A detailed listing of contents is available on request. Each part book bears the stamp and signature of Roy Glossop, Ambergate and the date 26/8/1810.

Stock #32917

£1750.00 order » / enquire »

Back to results